The Struggle With Cross-Dominance

I am a righty who has struggled with cross-dominance my whole life. My dad figured out that I was cross-dominant when I was about seven years old on one of our regular trips to the gravel pits to plink some cans.  My dad spotted me shooting my .22 bolt action rifle right-handed with my left eye open and my head stretched across the butt of the gun to see the sights.  Very awkward shooting position especially for a seven year old.  Just for giggles he switched me to a left handed shooting position and I couldn’t miss!  I was too young to know what ‘cross dominant’ meant, but what I did know was that I could hit where I aimed.  His gift to me not long after this discovery was a .22 semi-automatic to replace the bolt-action I could no longer shoot as a lefty.
Fast forward 23 years and I’m learning to shoot pistol for personal protection.  As you can imagine, my first few times out to the range were chaos trying to shoot right handed with my left eye open … trying to shoot left handed with my left eye open … trying to shoot with both eyes open ….
There are several schools of thought on how to address issues of cross dominance where shooting pistol is concerned.  Bill Rogers is quoted in the article below suggesting that the best solution is to learn to shoot the pistol with the hand that matches the dominant eye.  As a woman who carries concealed, that would have me carrying my firearm on my weak side and learning to master all of my manipulations with my weaker hand.  I tried it, believe me I tried.  But I was just terribly unsuccessful.  Therefore, rather than learn to shoot pistol left-handed I worked very very hard to train my right eye to compensate for the dominance issue.   According to the experts, this is NOT the most optimal solution.
What are your thoughts?  Do you struggle with cross dominance?  Have you found a suitable solution?  Check out the blog post by Tom Givens to see what he has to say about it!https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/ccm-columns/behind-the-line/the-cross-dominant-shooter/

About Jacqueline

Jacqueline Yockey is a Certified Firearms Instructor, UT Certified CFP Instructor, Self Defense Instructor and Certified Rape Awareness and Prevention Educator, whose passion for personal protection led her to create Shoots Like A Girl, an informative site for women (and men) who have gotten, or are thinking about getting, practical and tactical about their personal protection. ACT 235 Lethal Weapons Certified Certified NRA Firearms Instructor Certified Defensive Handgun Instructor Certified Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Instructor Certified Glock Armorer Active Member of USPSA Active Member of IDPA Active Member of GSSF Active Member of NSSF
This entry was posted in Personal Protection. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Struggle With Cross-Dominance

  1. Frank says:

    I know this is an old article, but I figured I would offer my experience for what it’s worth. I’m right handed and left eye dominant. I have tried every solution imaginable and I personally believe that the Bill Rogers method is the best. I know it can be difficult at first but it can be accomplished. My dexterity is absolutely horrible and I’ve managed to make the transition to my weak hand. I’m a law enforcement officer and I eventually got to the point that I qualify with my weak hand. If you think about it, your support hand controls the handgun and does the majority of work. Let me know, I can share how I trained myself to shoot with my non dominant hand.

Leave a Reply

